Member News and Notes

Our members are movers and shakers. From landing new jobs to earning well-deserved honors, NACAC members were busy in the second quarter of 2018.

Check out their accomplishments!

Awards and Honors

Jill Byers, admissions counselor at Ohio State Agricultural Technical Institute, received the OACAC Life Member Award from the Ohio Association of College Admission Counseling. The honor recognizes long meritorious service to the profession, as well as significant participation and contribution to the activities of OACAC.

Dana Lambert, school counselor at West Milford Township High School (NJ), was named the 2018 New Jersey ACT College & Career Readiness Champion for K-12 Professionals. Award-winners personify the mission of ACT by creating an atmosphere and culture that promotes college and career readiness for all. Honorees created or led a program that positively impacted their organization and community through improved readiness for college and career opportunities.  

Sydney Morgan, admission counselor at Simmons College (MA), received the Rising Star Award from the New England Transfer Association (NETA). The award is given annually to a NETA member who has no more than five years of experience in transfer, has made a significant contribution to the field of transfer, shows long-term potential in the field, and exemplifies commitment to transfer students.

Members on the Move

Zachary George is now director of college and fair relations for StriveScan (IL). He previously served as associate director of admissions (Chicago region) for DePauw University (IN).

Christy Sevier is now director of admissions for Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University (LA). She previously served as program director for alumni relations for Saint Louis University (MO).

Adam Castro is now vice president of admissions at Mercy College (NY). He previously served as vice president for enrollment management at Bloomfield College (NJ).

Bernadette Condesso is now co-director of college counseling with Graded — The American School of São Paulo in Brazil. She previously served as director of college counseling at Solomon Schechter School of Westchester (NY).

Christopher Miller is now director of college counseling at Sandy Spring Friends School (MD). He previously served as co-director of college counseling at Glenelg Country School (MD).

Daniel Monahan is now director of college counseling at St. Andrew’s Sewanee (TN). He previously served as director of college counseling at Cheshire Academy (CT).

Stefanie Niles is now vice president for enrollment and communications at Ohio Wesleyan University. She previously served as vice president for enrollment, marketing and communications at Dickinson College (PA). She is                                            NACAC’s president-elect.

Jon Rice was promoted to assistant director of undergraduate admission and recruitment at the University of San Francisco (CA). He previously served as a senior admission counselor at the university.

Matthew Ruark was promoted to director of admissions at Kentucky Wesleyan College. He previously served as college’s associate director of admissions.

Leslie Thatcher is now director of college success at Perkins School for the Blind (MA). She previously served as the interim director of college counseling at Chapel Hill – Chauncy Hall School (MA).

Did you land a new job? Receive an award? Publish a book? Let NACAC know what you’ve been up to by filling out our survey. Member updates will be published quarterly. The survey should be used to report accomplishments from the third quarter (July 1, 2018 to Sept. 30, 2018). You must be a current member in good standing with NACAC to have your news featured.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *